Gina Garg

Community: Bobcat

Room Number:  24

Grade:  2nd



Metro State university ,  Regis University

Teacher Information

Where I was born: I was born overseas as a small child and grew up mostly in Georgia. My father was in the Army and then we were stationed in Germany.  I went to high school in Germany and then graduated from Hinkley High School a long time ago when Fitzsimmons was still open.

Hobbies:  I love cooking and tasting various cuisines. I also love traveling and my 2 daughters and I recently went on a Disney cruise.  It was a blast!  My daughters and I love to bargain hunt and shop.  We also love taking our dog Romeo for long walks.

Family I have been married for 17 years to a Colorado native.  Mr. Garg is originally from India but has been in Colorado since he was 10.  We have 2 daughters and a doggie in our family.  Maya is 15 and Sasha is 8.  Both of my daughters love to dance and perform. Our dog Romeo is a 3 year old Zu Shon. That means he is part Bichon Frise and part Shi Zhu.  He loves every person or dog he ever meets so I named him Romeo!

Favorite Things:  I love dolphins and white tigers.  There is something so majestic about both of them.  I have seen dolphins and even manatees many times in Florida swimming alongside our boat.  I have yet to see a white tiger other than on television.  I dream of seeing them up close or in their natural habitat.

Favorite book/author:  My favorite type of literature is poetry.  My 2 favorites are Robert Frost & Maya Angelou.

Favorite Quote “Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.”- - Maya Angelou

Why I love being a Wildcat:  I love the Arkansas community.  Although this will be my 20thyear of teaching; I have been teaching at Arkansas for 5 years.  We have such a lovely diverse group of parents, students and teachers.  I teach kindergarten in the morning and test and assist second language learners and their parents in the afternoon. I learn something new from a student, parent or another teacher almost every day!  It has been a great experience Arkansas.

That’s How I ROAR!   I love science and math.  When I first attended college I really wanted to be a pediatrician or a biologist.  Since I love working with kiddos so much I decided to become a teacher. I have taught 3rd grade, kindergarten and even middle school for 1 year.  My favorite age group is the 5 year olds by far. 

Unified Job Description:   

"My job is to accelerate learning for every APS student, every day.  I do my job by nurturing trusting, life-long relationships between myself, my students, and their parents while providing differentiated, culturally sensitive, data driven instruction so that every student is successful.  My community needs me to do my job."